Summer Solstice 14K Race ~Minnewaska State Park, NY / June 24th, 2015~

My Rating: ★★★★★
$2.5/mile ($20 if registered earlier, it would have been $15)
My result: 1:01:35 (77th/310  5th in my AG)
http://shawangunkrunners.com

Pros:

  • Close (1:15 hr drive)
  • Coasters instead of a medal!
  • Beautiful runnable course
  • Awesome awards (Bread for AG awards! I wish I could be faster!)

Cons:

  • Expensive parking ($10!!!)

10251974_10153049858124952_687904501717395101_n
Another great race hosted by a local running club!
It was a super beautiful evening at Minnewaska State Park. I just wish I wasn’t running a 8 mile race. I wanted to stop and enjoy the amazing view, but 8 mile race wasn’t long enough to do so, and everybody was running very hard….so I went along.

First half had the most of the uphills. I totally forgot how hilly this park could be. Hilly, but not steep enough to walk….that kind of hilly. I didn’t know the course at all, so I tried to keep the sustainable pace after the 5 mile point when it became downhill. Eventually, the downhill lasted till the very end, except for one steep hill. I thought I had more to run, so I didn’t sprint, but everyone else sprinted HARD! I think 3 or 4 passed me  on the short hill 😦

IMG_0763I wasn’t too happy how I ran, but it was a wonderful race. They gave all the finishers the coasters instead of a medal! That was an awesome idea, I think. Now many races give pint glasses, but not enough coasters!  And they are smaller, lighter and I can use them daily 🙂
At the finish, they also had some food
(bananas and bagels), and everyone was enjoying the nice evening at the park.

Paying $10 for parking was a pain in the butt, though. I don’t think Bear Mountain was that expensive. Hmmmm…maybe I should buy Empire Passport next year.

Leave a comment